Trophies and Awards

The National Air and Space Museum presents this trophy annually to recognize both past and present achievements involving the management or execution of a scientific or technological project, a distinguished career of service in air and space technology, or a significant contribution in chronicling the history of air and space technology. The trophy was created by John Safer of Washington, DC, who donated it to our Museum.

Past recipients are listed below.

Lifetime Achievements


Current Achievement

2015 Stamatios "Tom" M. Krimigis   2015 Kepler Mission Team
2014 Norm Augustine   2014 The Dawn Flight Team
2013  Joseph F. Sutter   2013  Mars Science Laboratory Entry, Descent and
Landing (EDL) Team
2012     2012  
2011     2011  
2010     2010  
2009     2009