Trophy Award

The National Air and Space Museum presents this trophy annually to recognize both past and present achievements involving the management or execution of a scientific or technological project, a distinguished career of service in air and space technology, or a significant contribution in chronicling the history of air and space technology. The trophy was created by John Safer of Washington, DC, who donated it to our Museum.

Past recipients are listed below.

Lifetime Achievements

2016 Capt. James A. Lovell
2015 Stamatios "Tom" M. Krimigis
2014 Norm Augustine
2013 Joseph F. Sutter
2012 Burt Rutan
2011 George Mueller
2010 Christopher C. Kraft, Jr.
2009 John R. Casani and
C. Gordon Fullerton
2008 Joseph W. Kittinger, Jr.
2007 Robert A. "Bob" Hoover
2006 James A. Van Allen
2005 Frank N. Piasecki
2004 Neil Armstrong
2003 (no award)*
2002 Stanley Hiller Jr.
2001 Sen. John Glenn
2000 A. Scott Crossfield
1999 Dr. Simon Ramo
1998 Richard T. Whitcomb
1997 Anthony "Tony" LeVier
1996 Gen. Bernard A. Schriever, USAF (Ret.)
1995 Najeeb E. Halaby
1994 Dr. Michael H. Carr
1993 Olive Ann Beech
1992 Francis M. Rogallo
1991 Arthur E. Raymond
1990 Kelly Johnson and
the SR-71 Design Team
1989 Edwin Land
1988 Harold Masursky
1987 John Steiner
1986 Sir Frank Whittle and
Dr. Hans von Ohain
1985 Robert R. Gilruth

Current Achievement

2016 NASA's New Horizons Mission Team
2015 Kepler Mission Team
2014 The Dawn Flight Team
2013 Mars Science Laboratory Entry, Descent and
Landing (EDL) Team
2012 The Cassini-Huygens Flight Team
2011 Michael Suffredini and the International
Space Station Program Office
2010 Flight crew of US Airways Flight 1549:
Chesley B. Sullenberger III, Jeffrey B. Skiles,
Sheila Dail, Donna Dent and Doreen Welsh
2009 (no award)**
2008 Stardust Comet Sample Return Mission Team
2007 NASA's STS-121 Space Shuttle Team
2006 Mars Exploration Rover Team
2005 Burt Rutan, Paul Allen, and the SpaceShipOne Team
2004 USAF/Lockheed Martin Milstar Team
2003 (no award)*
2002 Predator Development Team
2001 NEAR Mission Team
2000 The Chandra X-Ray Observatory Team
1999 The Breitling Orbiter 3 Team
1998 The Mars Pathfinder Team
1997 Dr. Shannon W. Lucid
1996 The Boeing 777 Civilian Airliner Development Team
1995 The X-31 International Test Team
1994 Patty Wagstaff
1993 Dr. Compton J. Tucker
1992 The Magellan Project Team
1991 John C. Mather and
the Cosmic Background Explorer Team
1990 The Pegasus Launch Vehicle Team
1989 The Voyager Spacecraft Team
1988 Paul MacCready
1987 Dick Rutan and Jeana Yeager
1986 John W. Young
1985 Astronauts Kathryn D. Sullivan, Ph.D. and
Capt. Bruce McCandless, USN