Smithsonian Air and Space Museum

Apollo 11

Facts

Lunar Module: Eagle

Command and Service Module: Columbia

Crew: Neil Armstrong ,commander
Michael Collins, command module pilot
Edwin Aldrin, lunar module pilott

Launch: July 16, 1969
13:32:00 UT (09:32 a.m. EDT) Kennedy Space Center Launch Complex 39A

Landing Site: Mare Tranquillitatis (Sea of Tranquility)
0.67 N, 23.47 E

Landed on Moon: July 20, 1969
20:17:40 UT (4:17:40 p.m. EDT)

First step: 02:56:15 UT July 21, 1969
(10:56:15 p.m. EDT July 20, 1969)

EVA Duration: 2 hours, 31 minutes

Lunar Surface Traversed: ~250 meters

Moon Rocks Returned: 21.7 kilograms

LM Departed Moon: July 21, 1969
17:54:01 UT (1:54:01 p.m. EDT)

Time on Lunar Surface: 21 hours, 38 minutes, 21 seconds

Returned to Earth: July 24, 1969
16:50:35 UT (12:50:35 p.m. EDT)

Mission Duration: 195 hr. 18 min. 35 sec.

Retrieval site: Pacific Ocean
13° 19'N latitude and 169° 9'W longitude

Retrieval ship: U.S.S. Hornet

Special Payload:
  • Plaque (commemorates first manned landing)
  • Carried to Moon and returned two large American flags, flags of the 50 states, District of Columbia and U.S. Territories, flags of other nations and that of the United Nations.
  • MEPS (Modularized Equipment Stowage Assembly) containing TV camera to record first steps on Moon and EASEP (Early Apollo Science Equipment Package).
Highlights/Notes:
  • First men on the Moon, Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin. First return of samples from another planetary body.
  • The prime mission objective of Apollo 11 is stated simply: "Perform a manned lunar landing and return".
  • First return of samples from another planetary body. These first samples were basalts, dark-colored igneous rocks, and they were about 3.7 billion years old.
  • Plaque affixed to the leg of the lunar landing vehicle signed by President Nixon, Neil A. Armstrong, Michael Collins and Edwin E. Aldrin, Jr. The plaque bears a map of the Earth and this inscription:
    HERE MEN FROM THE PLANET EARTH
    FIRST SET FOOT UPON THE MOON
    JULY 1969 A.D.
    WE CAME IN PEACE FOR ALL MANKIND

Apollo 11 Quarantine

Apollo 11 Plaque