Smithsonian Air and Space Museum

Apollo 12

Facts

Lunar Module: Intrepid

Command and Service Module: Yankee Clipper

Crew: Charles Conrad, Jr, commander
Richard F. Gordon, command module pilot
Alan Bean, lunar module pilot

Launch: November 14, 1969
16:22:00 UTT (11:22:00 a.m. EST)
Kennedy Space Center Launch Complex 39A

Landing Site: Oceanus Procellarum — Ocean of Storms
(3.01S, 23.42W) (site 7)

Landed on Moon: November 19, 1969
6:54:35 UT ( 1:54:35 a.m. EST)

EVA Duration: 7 hr. 45 min.
[EVA 1: 3 hr. 55 min., EVA 2: 3 hr. 50 min.]

Moon Rocks Returned: 34.4 kilograms

LM Departed Moon: November 20, 1969
14:25:47 UT (9:25:47 a.m. EST)

Time on Lunar Surface: 31 hr. 31 min.

Returned to Earth: November 24, 1969
splashdown 20:58:24 UT ( 3:58:24 p.m. EST)

Mission Duration: 244 hr 36 min 24 sec.

Retrieval site: Pacific Ocean 15° 47' S, 165° 9' W

Retrieval ship: U.S.S. Hornet

Special Payload:
  • Flags from 136 nations, the UN, 50 states and four U.S. possessions were aboard the lunar module.
  • Apollo Lunar Surface Experiments Package (ALSEP), color TV camera, seismometer, electric generator (plutonium power source).
Highlights/Notes:
  • Saturn rocket hit by lightning twice, 32 sec. and 52 sec. after launch temporarily cutting electrical power and telemetry.
  • TV camera was damaged shortly after Moon landing.
  • Extensive EVAs, second covering approx. 1300 meters.
  • Crew examined Surveyor III spacecraft which landed on Moon 2.5 years previous and returned some of its instruments to Earth.
  • After leaving Moon, LM crashed into lunar surface creating first recorded artificial earthquake.
  • The crew remained in quarantine for 21 days from completion of the second EVA.

Alan Bean

Pete Conrad