Smithsonian Air and Space Museum

Apollo 14

Facts

Lunar Module: Antares

Command and Service Module: Kitty Hawk

Crew: Alan B. Shepard, Jr, commander
Stuart A. Roosa, command module pilot
Edgar D. Mitchell, lunar module pilot

Launch: January 31, 1971
21:03:02 UT (4:03:22 p.m. EST)
Kennedy Space Center Launch Complex 39A

Landing Site: Fra Mauro
(3.65 S, 17.47 W)

Landed on Moon: February 5, 1971
9:18:11 UT (04:18:11 a.m. EST)

EVA Duration: 9 hours 23 minutes
(EVA 1: 7 hr 12 min, EVA 2: 7 hr 37 min.)

Moon Rocks Returned: 42.9 kilograms

LM Departed Moon: February 6, 1971
18:48:42 UT (1:48:42 p.m. EST)

Time on Lunar Surface: 33 hr. 31min.
[9:18:11 UT February 5, 1971 - 18:48:42 UT February 6, 1971]

Returned to Earth: February 9, 1971
splashdown at 21:05:00 UT (4:05:00 p.m. EST)

Mission Duration: 216 hrs. 1 min. 58 sec.

Retrieval site: Pacific Ocean 27° 1' S, 172° 39' W

Retrieval ship: U.S.S. New Orleans

Special Payload:
  • MET (Modularized Equipment Transport)
  • ALSEP (Apollo Lunar Surface Experiments Package)
  • Flags carried on this mission and returned to Earth included 25 United States flags, state and territories flags and flags of all the United Nations members, each four by six inches.
Highlights/Notes:
  • CSM/LM docking took six tries due to docking mechanism problem.
  • The Apollo 14 landing site is the same site selected for the aborted Apollo 13 mission.
  • Alan Shepard hit two golf balls on the Moon at the end of the last EVA.
  • The crew remained in quarantine for 21 days from completion of the second EVA.

Apollo 14

Apollo 14