Smithsonian Air and Space Museum

Apollo 15

Facts

Lunar Module: Falcon

Command and Service Module: Endeavour

Crew: David R. Scott, commander
Alfred M. Worden, command module pilot
James B. Irwin, lunar module pilot

Launch: July 26, 1971
13:34:00 UT (9:34:00 a.m. EDT)
Kennedy Space Center Launch Complex 39A

Landing Site: Hadley Rille/Apennines
(26.13 N, 3.63E)

Landed on Moon: July 30, 1971
22:16:29 UT (6:16:29 p.m. EDT)

EVA Duration: Total 18 hr. 35 min. [3 EVAs]

Lunar Surface Traversed: 27.9 kilometers

Moon Rocks Returned: 76.8 kilograms

LM Departed Moon: August 2, 1971
17:11:22 UT (1:11:22 p.m. EDT)

Time on Lunar Surface: 66 hr. 54 min. 53 sec.

Returned to Earth: August 7, 1971
splashdown 20:45:53 UT (4:45:53 p.m. EDT)

Mission Duration: 295 hr. 11 min. 53 sec.

Retrieval site: Pacific Ocean 26° 7' N, 18° 8' W

Retrieval ship: U.S.S. Okinawa

Special Payload: Flags carried on this mission and returned to Earth included 25 United States flags, state and territories flags, and flags of all the United Nations members, each four by six inches.

Highlights/Notes:
  • First mission with a lunar roving vehicle (LRV) that could transport two astronauts. The LRV could also carry tools, scientific equipment, communications gear, and lunar samples.
  • First launch of a subsatellite in lunar orbit.
  • During Earth re-entry and descent, one of the 3 parachutes failed to open fully. As a result, descent velocity was 4.5km/hr (2.8mph) faster than planned.

Apollo 15 Liftoff

Apollo 15 Service Module