Smithsonian Air and Space Museum

Apollo 17

Facts

Lunar Module: Challenger

Command and Service Module: America

Crew: Eugene A. Cernan, commander
Ronald E. Evans, command module pilot
Harrison H. Schmitt, lunar module pilot

Launch: December 7, 1972
05:33:00 UT (12:33:00 a.m. EST)
Kennedy Space Center Launch Complex 39A

Landing Site: Taurus-Littrow
(20.18N, 30.76E)

Landed on Moon: December 11, 1972
19:54:57 UT (02:54:57 p.m. EST)

EVA Duration: 22 hours 4 minutes
( EVA 1: 7 hr 12 min, EVA 2: 7 hr 37 min., EVA 3 ended at 05:40:56 GMT on December 14.)

Lunar Surface Traversed: 30 kilometers

Moon Rocks Returned: 110 kilograms

LM Departed Moon: December 14, 1972
22:54:37 UT (5:54:37 p.m. EST)

Time on Lunar Surface: 74 hr. 59 min. 40 sec.
[19:54:57 UT December 11, 1972 - 22:54:37 GMT December 14, 1972]

Returned to Earth: December 19, 1972
splashdown at 19:24:59 UT (2:24:59p.m. EST)

Mission Duration: 301 hr. 51 min. 59 sec.

Retrieval site: Pacific Ocean 17° 53' S, 166° 7' W

Retrieval ship: U.S.S. Ticonderoga

Special Payload: Third mission with a lunar roving vehicle (LRV) that could transport two astronauts. The LRV could also carry tools, scientific equipment, communications gear, and lunar samples.

Highlights/Notes:
  • First geologist on lunar surface.
  • Longest LRV traverse on a single EVA.
  • Greatest amount of lunar samples returned to Earth.

Eugene A. Cernan, Commander, Apollo 17

Planet Earth