Smithsonian Air and Space Museum

Apollo 10

Facts

Lunar Module: Snoopy

Command and Service Module: Charlie Brown

Crew: Thomas P. Stafford, commander
John W. Young, command module pilot
Eugene A. Cernan, lunar module pilot

Launch: May 18, 1969
16:49:00 UT (12:49:00 p.m. EDT)
Kennedy Space Center Launch Complex 39B

Lunar Orbit: May 21, 1969

Mission Duration: 192 hours 3 minutes 23 seconds

Returned to Earth: May 26., 1969
splashdown 16:52:23 UT (12:52:23 p.m. EDT)

Retrieval site: Pacific Ocean 15° 2' S, 164° 39' W

Retrieval ship: U.S.S. Princeton

Highlights/Notes:
  • Demonstration of color TV camera.
  • Second Apollo mission to orbit the Moon.
  • First time the complete Apollo spacecraft had operated around the Moon and the second manned flight for the lunar module.
  • Two Apollo 10 astronauts descended to within eight nautical miles (14 kilometers) of the Moon's surface, the closest approach ever to another celestial body.
  • All aspects of Apollo 10 duplicated conditions of the lunar landing mission as closely as possible--Sun angles at Apollo Site 2, the out-and-back flight path to the Moon, and the time line of mission events. Apollo 10 differed from Apollo 11 in that no landing was made on the Moon's surface.
  • Apollo 10 was the only Apollo mission to launch from Launch Complex 39B.
  • Maximum separation between the LM and the CSM during the rendezvous sequence was about 350 miles (563 km) and provided an extensive checkout of the LM rendezvous radar as well as the backup VHS ranging device aboard the CSM, flown for the first time on Apollo 10.

Apollo 10 Launch

Apollo 10 Command Module