Smithsonian Air and Space Museum

Location of Apollo Lunar Modules

  1. Flew ummanned on Apollo 5
  2. Not Used
    On display at The National Air and Space Museum, Smithsonian Institution
  3. Apollo 9 "Spider"
  4. Apollo 10 "Snoopy"
    In heliocentric orbit
  5. Apollo 11 "Eagle"
    Ascent stage: jettisoned from the Command Module on July 21, 1969 at 23:41 UT (7:41 PM EDT). Impact site unknown.
    Descent stage: on Moon, Sea of Tranquillity
  6. Apollo 12 "Intrepid"
    Ascent stage: impacted Moon 20 November 1969 at 22:17:17.7 UT (5:17 PM EST) 3.94 S, 21.20 W
    Descent stage: on Moon, Ocean of Storms
  7. Apollo 13 "Aquarius"
    Used as a lifeboat, burned up in Earth's atmosphere April 17, 1970
  8. Apollo 14 "Antares"
    Ascent stage: impacted Moon February 7, 1971 at 00:45:25.7 UT (06 February, 7:45 PM EST) 3.42 S, 19.67 W
    Descent stage: on Moon, Fra Mauro
  9. Not Used
    Kennedy Space Center
  10. Apollo 15 "Falcon"
    Ascent stage: impacted Moon August 3, 1971 at 03:03:37.0 UT (02 August, 11:03 PM EDT) 26.36 N, 0.25 E
    Descent stage: on Moon, Hadley-Apennine
  11. Apollo 16 "Orion"
    Ascent stage: released April 24, 1972. Impact site unknown
    Descent stage: on Moon, Descartes
  12. Apollo 17 "Challenger"
    Ascent stage: impacted Moon December 15, 1972 at 06:50:20.8 UT (1:50 AM EST) 19.96 N, 30.50 E
    Descent stage: on Moon, Taurus-Littrow
  13. Not Used (mission cancelled)
    On Display at The Cradle of Aviation Museum, Mitchel Field, Long Island
  14. Not Used (mission cancelled)
  15. Scrapped

For more information on Apollo command module locations and LM impacts on the Moon, see the NASA list Apollo: Where Are They Now?

 

Apollo Lunar Module

LM 2 was built for a second unmanned Earth-orbit test flight. Because the test flight of LM 1, named Apollo 5, was so successful, a second mission was deemed unnecessary. LM-2 was used for ground testing prior to the first successful Moon-landing mission. In 1970 the ascent stage of LM-2 spent several months on display at the "Expo '70" in Osaka, Japan. When it returned to the United States, it was reunited with its descent stage, modified to appear like the Apollo 11 Lunar Module "Eagle," and transferred to the Smithsonian for display in the National Ai rand Space Museum's Lunar Exploration Vehicles gallery.