Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum


The National Air and Space Museum relies heavily on the support of many committed donors and organizations to fund its mission to commemorate educate and inspire through the history of flight and space exploration. Through donations to the Museum, membership in the National Air and Space Society, and contributions to the Wall of Honor, donors support award-winning research, engaging exhibitions, and science and technology-based educational initiatives.

Below is a list of donors who have contributed $2,000 or more in the 2010 fiscal year. We are grateful for the essential support of our donors.

$1,000,000 and above
The Boeing Company
Susan and Jim Cargill, Meghann and Patrick Harker, Christian Harker
Rod Lewis and Family

$100,000 to $999,999
National Air and Space Society
John and Adrienne Mars
Mr. and Mrs. Allan M. Holt, The Hillside Foundation, Inc.
National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
U.S. Department of Transportation
National Coordination Office for Space-Based Positioning, Navigation & Timing
Rockwell Collins
Northrop Grumman Corporation
Christian L. and Edna M. March
County of Fairfax

$50,000 to $99,999
Anton C. Love
Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp.
GE Aviation
Thomas and Jamie Pumpelly

$20,000 to $49,999
David P. Leising Living Trust
Smithsonian Women's Committee
The Gertrude E. Skelly Charitable Foundation
Joe Clark
Lockheed Martin
Kasey and Jamie McJunkin
Estate of Lorraine M. Mensing
Owen F. Ruggles
Armed Forces Communications & Electronics Association
Buehler Aviation Research Foundation, Inc.
George W. Elliott
Ken and Madge Gazzola
Goodrich Foundation
The Institute of Navigation
Jacqueline Badger Mars
Linda A. Mars
Richard H. Robb and Rebecca E. Crown

$10,000 to $19,000
Bernt O. Bodal (American Seafoods Group, LLC)
Robert Harris and Susan Rothermund
Mrs. Agnes M. Brown
Robert L. Dwight
Analytical Graphics, Inc.
BAE Systems
Byron R. Carter
Cubic Corporation
The Claude Moore Charitable Foundation
Emerald Foundation Fund
Cynthia and Edsel Ford
F-100 Super Sabre Society
S. Taylor Glover
James M. and Anita K. Guyette
Alan and Irene Lund
James Raisbeck
Si and Betty Robin
United Technologies Corporation
Mr. and Mrs. Matthew C. Weisman
Shan Whitfield

$2,000 to $9,999
Robert L. and Anne K. James
Kraft Foods
Bruce and Jolene McCaw Family
Nancy and Clive Runnells
ExxonMobil Foundation
Dr. and Mrs. Richard G. Sugden
Fredda Sparks and Kent Montavon
Lois Hall Devinney
Bendrix Lee Bailey
The Alvin, Lottie and Rachel Gray Fund and Azzizi Shalom Gray
David and Johanna Hurley
Nora Hsu and Barry C. Davis
Safe Flight Instrument Corporation
William E. Thomas, Jr.
US Airways
Paula McCaskill Whitehouse and Michael Whitehouse
Robert S. and Dawn M. Birmingham
Colonel and Mrs. Richard H. Graham, USAF, Ret.
Cliff Robertson Ethics Foundation
Dean S. Edmonds Foundation
PPG Aerospace
Melissa Courtney
Robert E. Lussier
Wes Bush
Shelia and Hayden Davis
Mary F. Dominiak
William H. Donner Foundation
Fairfax County Convention and Visitors Corporation
Mr. and Mrs. Carl G. Gewirz
Mr. and Mrs. Jim Todd
Microsoft Giving Campaign
Paul Broyhill
Capt. Eugene A. Cernan
Barbara Chambers
General and Mrs. Jack Dailey
Richard L. Hedden
Thomas and Elizabeth Jones
Norman Kinsey
Major Willard H. Strandberg, Jr. and Mrs. Ann Strandberg
John and Joy Safer

Smithsonian Legacy Society

The Smithsonian Legacy Society honors those who carry on James Smithson's tradition by making legacy gifts to the Institution, such as bequests, charitable gift annuities, charitable remainder trusts, pooled income fund gifts, gifts of retirement plans, or other giving vehicles. This list recognizes members of the Smithsonian Legacy Society who support the National Air and Space Museum.

Anonymous (11)
Stephen T. Alexieff
Claudia R. Allen and Willis M. Allen, Jr.
Mr. Charles F. W. Anderson
Mary W. and Rhodes F. Arnold
Mr. and Mrs. William R. Baecht
William C. and Nellie N. Baker
LeRoy T. Baseman
Mrs. Florence Baston
Colonel Charles Botula III, USAF (Ret.) and Mrs. Susan K. Botula
Col. and Mrs. Arthur L. Brooke
Mrs. Agnes M. Brown
Mr. Warren F. Buxton, Ph.D., CDP
Earl F. Clayton
Phillip and Betty Crum
General and Mrs. J.R. Dailey
James and Dorothy Davis
Nora Hsu and Barry C. Davis
Mr. and Mrs. A. C. Deichmiller
Kenneth G. and Sherry L. Dietz
Alan and Elizabeth Duckett
Robert L. Dwight
Mr. George W. Elliott
Mrs. Joan Engberg
Ken Ferrara
Mr. Fred R. Fonck
Albert and Marion Friedlander
Mr. Oscar Galeno
Aileen M. Garrett
Ken and Madge Gazzola
Lt. Col. and Mrs. Milton R. Gunther, USAF (Ret.)
Richard W. Hardman
Roger D. Hathaway
Mr. Geoffrey F. Hayes
Mr. and Mrs. Carl D. Herold
Mr. Jeff Hill
Dorothy Post Hoover
Ray and Valerie Hopkins
Captain Woodie W. Humburg
Mr. and Mrs. Milton M. Hyatt
Dennis R. Jenkins
Lieutenant Colonel Robert B. Jenkins, USAF, Retired
Stephen and Linda Kamen
Jack L. Keyes
John and Mary Lu Koenig
Richard and Marilyn Kolesar
Lt. Col. William K. and Mrs. Alice S. Konze
Margo Kurtz
Ms. Swoosie Kurtz
Gilbert H. Lang, M.D.
Philip Lathrap
M/SGT. Lionel L. Leblanc
Shirley Loo
Frank J. Lukowski
Christian L. and Edna M. March
Mr. Ronald W. McCain
Robert and Mary McCallum
Mr. and Mrs. Carl Mikuletzky
Jerry Miller
Mr. and Mrs. Roger K. Myers
Lt. Col. Frank D. Neill, Jr. (Ret.)
David A. Neiss
Mr. Homer C. Ogles
Mr. Paul L. Peck
John L. Peterson
Bob and Janice Pound
David and Cheryl Purvis
Mr. George Rees
Jon and Emilee Reynolds
Mrs. Robert A. Rice
Mr. Charles J. Robertson
Stuart W. Rosenbaum
Owen F. Ruggles
Edward H. Sachtleben
Lieutenant Colonel Joseph R. Santa Barbara
Robert L. and Mary T. Schneider
Col. and Mrs. Robert S. Sherman
Sandra and Lawrence Small
Denny G. Snyder
Siewchin Yong Sommer
Paul and Janet Stahlhuth
Fred L. and Ruth B. Steele
Kevin B. Stone
Robert and Gail Strong
Joseph and Elizabeth Suarez
Mr. and Mrs. Jim Todd
Patty Wagstaff
ADCS Scott B. Wood, USN, Retired
Mr. Phillip S. Woodruff
Mr. and Mrs. Daniel W. Yohannes
John and Sherry Ziegler

Rod Lewis, president and CEO of Lewis Energy Group, and his wife, Kim, at the GE Aviation Lecture October 6, 2010. Mr. Lewis, a Museum board member, spoke at the lecture about Glacier Girl, a Lockheed P-38 that became stranded on the Greenland Ice Cap during WWII and was recovered 50 years later. Mr. Lewis owns Glacier Girl.

Adrienne Mars and grandson Nicholas Mars with Apollo 13 astronaut Jim Lovell. The occasion was the 2010 John H. Glenn Lecture, which commemorated the 40th anniversary of the Apollo 13 mission. Adrienne Mars is an emeritus member of the National Air and Space Museum's National Board.

National Air and Space Museum board member Allan Holt, second from right, and others from the Carlyle Group at the 2010 Trophy awards dinner. From left to right are Peter Clare, Teresa Clare, Pamela Kurland, David Marchick, Allan Holt, and Mark Rosenker.

Guy Hachey, president and chief operating officer of Bombardier Aerospace, and Helene Gagnon, vice president, Public Affairs, Communications and Corporate Social Responsibility, Bombardier Aerospace, with legendary pilot Bob Hoover at the 2010 Charles A. Lindbergh Memorial Lecture. Hoover was the evening's speaker, and Bombardier is the lecture sponsor.

National Air and Space Society member William E. Thomas and his guest, Mr. Joe Laur, with Museum director Gen. John R. "Jack" Dailey at the reception for the Society's 2010 Vice Admiral Donald D. Engen Flight Jacket Night lecture.

National Air and Space Museum board member Ken Gazzola, his wife, Madge, and actor Harrison Ford at the Museum's 2010 Trophy awards dinner.