Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum



Awards, Received

  • Library Journal named deceased curator Ron Davies' final book, Airlines of the Jet Age, one of the best reference works of 2011.
  • Jeremy Kinney, Aeronautics Department, received the Thornton D. Hooper Award for Excellence in Aviation History from the League of World War I Aviation Historians.
  • Roger Launius, Department of Space History, received the Charles Thomson Prize from the Society for History in the Federal Government.
  • David DeVorkin, Department of Space History, was honored by having an asteroid named after him by the International Astronomical Union. 
  • John Anderson, Aeronautics Department, received the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Hypersonic Systems and Technologies Award for 2012.
  • Tom Crouch, Aeronautics Department, was awarded the 2012 Paul S. Kerr Prize from the New York State Historical Association.
  • The Wings Club of New York presented Director J.R. “Jack” Dailey with its Distinguished Achievement Award. 

Awards, Given

Established in 1985, the National Air and Space Museum Trophy recognizes outstanding achievements in the fields of aerospace science and technology and their history. This year, the Trophy for Lifetime Achievement was awarded to Burt Rutan, and the Trophy for Current Achievement was presented to the Cassini-Huygens Flight team.

Photo: Storied aircraft designer Burt Rutan was the recipient of the 2012 National Air and Space Museum Trophy for Lifetime Achievement. He is seen here with Smithsonian Secretary Wayne Clough, left, and Museum Director J.R. Dailey.