Clarence H. Mackay Trophy


Display Status:

This object is not on display at the National Air and Space Museum. It is either on loan or in storage.

Collection Item Summary:

The Mackay Trophy was established in 1911 by Clarence H. Mackay, who was head of the Postal Telegraph-Commercial Cable Companies. It is administered by the National Aeronautic Association of the U.S.A. and is awarded yearly by the U.S. Air Force for the most meritorious flight of the year by an Air Force person, persons, or organization.

Gift of the National Aeronautic Association of the U.S.A.


1912 Lt. Henry H. Arnold

1913 2nd Lt. Joseph E. Carberry

2nd Lt. Fred Seydel

1914 Capt. Townsend F. Dodd

Lt. S. W. Fitzgerald

1915 Lt. B. Q. Jones

1916-17 No award

1918 Capt. Edward V. Rickenbacker

1919 Lt. Belvin W. Maynard

Lt. Alexander Pearson Jr.

Lt. R. S. Northington

Capt. John O. Donaldson

Capt. Lowell H. Smith

Lt. Col. Harold E. Hartney

Lt. E. M. Manzelman

Lt. B. G. Bagby

Lt. D. B. Gish

Capt. F. Steinle

1920 Capt. St. Clair Streett

1st Lt. Clifford C. Nutt

2nd Lt. Eric H. Nelson

2nd Lt. C. H. Crumrine

2nd Lt. Ross C. Kirkpatrick

Sgt. Edmond Henriques

Sgt. Albert T. Vierra

Sgt. Joe E. English

1921 Lt. J. A. Macready

1922 Lt. J. A. Macready

Lt. O. G. Kelly

1923 Lt. J. A. Macready

Lt. O. G. Kelly

1924 Capt. Lowell H. Smith

1st Lt. Leslie P. Arnold

2nd Lt. John Harding Jr.

1st Lt. Leigh Wade

1st Lt. Eric H. Nelson

2nd Lt. Henry H. Ogden

1925 Lt. James H. Doolittle

Lt. Cyrus K. Bettis

1926 Pan American Good Will Flyers

1927 Lt. Albert F. Hegenberger

Lt. Lester J. Maitland

1928 Lt. Harry A. Sutton

1929 Capt. A. W. Stevens

1930 Maj. Ralph Royce

1931 Brig. Gen. Benjamin D. Foulois

1932 11th Bombardment Squadron, March Field, Calif., 1st Lt. Charles H. Howard,

Commanding Officer

1933 Capt. Westside T. Larson

1934 Brig. Gen. Henry H. Arnold

1935 Capt. A. W. Stevens

Capt. O. A. Anderson

1936 Capt. Richard E. Nugent

1st Lt. Joseph A. Miller

1st Lt. Edwin G. Simenson

2nd Lt. William P. Ragsdale Jr.

2nd Lt. Burton W. Armstrong

2nd Lt. Herbert Morgan Jr.

Tech. Sgt. Gilbert W. Olson

Staff Sgt. Howard M. Miller

Cpl. Air Mechanic 2/c Frank B. Connor

1937 Capt. Carl J. Crane

Capt. George V. Holloman

1938 Lt. Col. Robert Olds, 2nd Bombardment Group

1939 Maj. Caleb V. Haynes

Maj. William D. Old

Capt. John A. Samford

1st Lt. Richard S. Freeman

1st Lt. Torgils G. Wold

Tech. Sgt. William J. Heldt

Tech. Sgt. Henry L. Hines

Tech. Sgt. David L. Spicer

Staff Sgt. Russell E. Junior

Staff Sgt. James E. Sands

M/Sgt. Adolph Cattarius

1940-46 No award

1947 Capt. Charles E. Yeager

1948 Lt. Col. Emil Beaudry

1949 Capt. James G. Gallagher and the fight crew of Lucky Lady II

1950 27th Fighter Wing

1951 Col. Fred J. Ascani

1952 Maj. Louis H. Carrington Jr.

Maj. Frederick W. Shook

Capt. Wallace D. Yancey

1953 40th Air Division, Strategic Air Command

1954 308th Bombardment Wing (M), 38th Air Division, Strategic Air Command

1955 Col. Horace A. Hanes

1956 Capt. Iven C. Kincheloe Jr.

1957 93rd Bombardment Wing, Strategic Air Command

1958 Tactical Air Command's Air Strike Force, X-Ray Tango

1959 U.S. Air Force Thunderbirds

1960 6593rd Test Squadron, Hickham AFB, Hawaii

1961 Lt. Col. William R. Payne

Maj. William L. Polhemus

Maj. Raymond R. Wagener

1962 Maj. Robert. G. Sowers

Capt. Robert MacDonald

Capt. John T. Walton

1963 Capt. Warren P. Tomsett

Capt. John R. Ordemann

Capt. Donald R. Mack

Tech. Sgt. Edsol P. Inlow

Staff Sgt. Jack E. Morgan

Staff Sgt. Frank C. Barrett

1964 464th Troop Carrier Wing, Tactical Air Command

1965 YF-12A/SR-71 Test Force, Edwards AFB, Calif.

1966 Lt. Col. Albert R. Howarth

1967 Maj. John H. Casteel

Capt. Dean L. Hoar

Capt. Richard L. Trail

M/Sgt. Nathan C. Campbell

1968 Lt. Col. Daryl D. Cole

1969 49th Tactical Fighter Wing, Holloman AFB, N.Mex.

1970 Capt. Alan D. Milacek and his nine-man crew

1971 Lt. Col. Thomas B. Estes

Maj. Dewain C. Vick

1972 Capt. Richard S. Ritchie

Capt. Charles B. DeBellevue

Capt. Jeffrey S. Feinstein

1973 Operation Homecoming, Military Airlift Command Aircrews

1974 Maj. Roger J. Smith

Maj. David W. Peterson

Maj. Willard R. Macfarlane

1975 Maj. Robert W. Undorf

1976 Capt. James A. Yule

1977 Capt. David M. Sprinkel and his C-5 aircrew

1978 Lt. Col. Robert F. Schultz, Capt. Todd H. Hohberger, and their crews from the 436th Military Airlift Wing, Military Airlift Command

1979 Maj. James E. McArdle Jr.

1980 Crews S-21 and S-31, 644th Bombardment Squadron, Strategic Air Command

1981 Capt. John J. Walters

1982 B-52 Crew E-21, 19th Bombardment Wing, Strategic Air Command

1983 Capt. Robert J. Goodman and his KC-135 crew, 42nd Bombardment Wing, Strategic Air Command

1984 Lt. Col. James L. Hobson Jr.

1985 Lt. Col. David E. Faught

1986 Capt. Marc D. Felman

Capt. Thomas M. Ferguson

M/Sgt. Clarence Bridges Jr.

M/Sgt. Patrick S. Kennedy

M/Sgt. Gerald G. Treadwell

Tech. Sgt. Lester G. Bouler

Tech. Sgt. Gerald M. Lewis

Staff Sgt. Samuel S. Flores

Staff Sgt. Scott A. Helms

Staff Sgt. Gary L. Smith

1987 Detachment 15, Air Force Plant Representative Office and B-1B System

Program Office, Air Force Systems Command

1988 Military Airlift Wing C-5 Crew, Military Airlift Command

1989 98th Bombardment Wing B-1B Crew, Strategic Air Command

1990 AC-130H Crew, 16th Special Operations Squadron, Air Force Special

Operations Command

1991 MH-53J Pave Low Crew, 20th Special Operations Squadron, Hurlburt Field, Fla., Air Force Special Operations Command

1992 C-130 Aircrew, 310th Airlift Squadron, Howard AFB, Panama, Air Combat


1993 B-52 Aircrew, 668th Bomb Squadron, Griffiss AFB, N.Y.

1994 HH-60G Aircrews 206 and 208, 56th Rescue Squadron, Keflavik NAS, Iceland,

Air Combat Command

1995 B-1B, BAT-01 Flight, 9th Bombardment Squadron, Dyess AFB, Tex., Air Combat


1996 B-52H, Duke 01 Flight, Combat Air Command

1997 MC-130H, 7th Special Operations Squadron, Crew of Whisk 05

1998 Air Force Rescue 470, 210th Rescue Squadron, Kulis ANGB, Anchorage, Alaska

1999 Capt. Jeffrey G. J. Hwang

2000 AIREVAC E10E1 and E10E2 Missions, 75th Airlift Squadron, 86th Aeromedical

Evac Squadron

2001 20th Special Operations Squadron KNIFE 04

2002 GRIM 31, 16th SOS

2003 VIJAY 10, 7th Airlift Squadron

2004 41st Rescue Squadron and 38th Rescue Squadron, Jolly 11 and Jolly 12

2005 Train 60

2006 Capt. Scott L. Markle

2007 Panther One One

Col. Charles L. Moore

Lt. Col. Stephen C. Williams

Capt. Lawrence T. Sullivan

Capt. Kristopher W. Struve

2008 The Crew of BONE 23

2009 The Crew of PEDRO 16

2010 DUDE Flight (DUDE 01 and DUDE 02)

2011 The Crews of PEDRO 83 Flight

2012 The Crews of PEDRO 83 Flgiht

2013 The Crews of ROOSTER 73 Flight

2014 The Crew of IRONHAND 41 Flight

2015 The Crews of WEASEL 41 and WEASEL 51 Flight

2016 The Crew of SPOOKY 43 Flight

2017 The Crew of BOAR 51 Flight

2018 The Crew of DRACO 42 Flight

Collection Item Long Description:



Inventory Number


Physical Description

Gold lined silver cup 4 angels arms extended holding Wright military flyers; cup sitting on mahogany base with engraved silver plaques.

Credit Line

Donated by the National Aeronautic Association


Country of Origin

United States of America


  • Cup: Silver with Gold Lining
  • Base: Mahogany


3-D: 106.7 x 61cm (42 x 24 in.)

Data Source

National Air and Space Museum

Restrictions & Rights

Do not reproduce without permission from the Smithsonian Institution, National Air and Space Museum