Trophy, Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award


Display Status:

This object is on display in the Boeing Milestones of Flight Hall exhibition at the National Air and Space Museum in Washington, DC.

Collection Item Summary:


The Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Trophy, established in 1986, is awarded annually by the Air Traffic Control Association, Inc. to an individual whose achievements are in more than one aviation discipline and who has demonstrated a life-long commitment to aviation and aviation safety.

The award is dedicated to the memory of Glen A. Gilbert, one of the "Fathers of Air Traffic Control." In 1935, he was instrumental in developing a communications system which could track aircraft enroute to decrease the risk of collision hazard. This was the first air traffic control system.

The Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award was designed a fabricated for ATCA by the Hughes Aircraft Company.

Gift of the Air Traffic Control Association

1986 David Thomas, Deputy FAA Administrator, Air Traffic Controller

1987 Najeeb Halaby, FAA Administrator, President Pan American Airways

1988 No Award Presented

1989 . Lynn Helms, FAA Administrator, President Piper Aircraft Co.

1990 Scott Crossfield, Test Pilot

1991 John Winant, President National Business Aircraft Association

1992 No Award Presented

1993 Joseph Del Balzo, Deputy FAA Administrator

1994 Tirey Vickers, Editor ATCA Journal, Air Traffic Controller

1995 Capt. Elrey B. Jeppesen, United Airlines, Aviation Charting Co., Jeppesen & Company

1996 Norman Mineta, Secretary of Transportation, United States Congress

1997 Yves Lambert, Director General EUROCONTROL

1998 Stanley Seltzer, Vice President American Airlines, Air Traffic Controller

1999 Langhorne Bond, FAA Administrator

2000 Col. Gabriel A. Hartl (USAF, Ret.), President ATCA

2001 William Pollard, CEO Air Services Australia, Air Traffic Controller

2002 Frank Frisbie, Vice President and Account Manager Civil Aviation Northrop Grumman, FAA Deputy Associate Administrator for Development and Logistics

2003 Andrew Pitas, ATCA Assistant Vice President Operations, Founder ATCA, Air Traffic Controller

2004Wolfgang Philipp, Senior Director, EUROCONTROL

2005Hon. James L. Oberstar

2006Garland “Cas” Castleberry

2007Jerry Thompson

2008John Crichton, President, NAV CANADA

2009Allan McArtor, Chairman, Airbus Americas, Inc.

2010Neil Planzer, Vice President, Air Traffic Management, The Boeing Company

2011Jane Garvey, FAA Administrator, Chairman, Meridiam

2012Peter Challan, VP of Industry Relations, Harris Corporation

2013Patrick Ky, Executive Director, European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA)

2014Monte Belger, Acting FAA Deputy Administrator; President, Metron Aviation

2015Sid Koslow, Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, NAV CANADA

2016Paul Rinaldi, President, NATCA

2017 Richard Anderson

Collection Item Long Description:

Data Source

National Air and Space Museum

Restrictions & Rights

Do not reproduce without permission from the Smithsonian Institution, National Air and Space Museum


Credit Line

Donated by the Air Traffic Control Association


Unidentified tropical hardwood, crystal, silver, copper alloy, epoxy, wood glue


  • Overall: 20.4kg (45lb.)
  • Overall (Globe): 24.1 × 19.1 × 33cm (9 1/2 × 7 1/2 × 13 in.)
  • Overall (Center stand): 33 × 49.5cm (13 × 19 1/2 in.)
  • Overall (Additional base): 34.3 × 8.9cm (13 1/2 × 3 1/2 in.)

Country of Origin

United States of America

Physical Description

Silver-plated bronze Jupiter rests above green crystal sphere.



Inventory Number