Pilots and Astronauts 

Posted on Fri, January 15, 2016

Among the 12 pilots who flew the X-15 were future Apollo 11 commander Neil Armstrong and Space Shuttle astronaut Joe Engle. Eight X-15 pilots flew higher than 80 kilometers (50 miles) above the Earth and were thus awarded astronaut wings:

Michael J. Adams (USAF)
William H. Dana (NASA)
Joe H. Engle (USAF)
William J. Knight (USAF)
John B. McKay (NASA)
Robert A. Rushworth (USAF)
Joseph A. Walker (NASA)
Robert A. White (USAF)

Related Topics