Medal, Commemorative, Apollo 8, Bavarian State Mint

This Apollo 8 commemorative medal was struck by the Bavarian State Mint. Apollo 8 launched on December 21, 1968, and returned to Earth six days later. It was the second human spaceflight and the first lunar orbital mission in the Apollo program. Frank Borman, William Anders, and James Lovell, Jr. were the astronauts.

Space medal collector Thomas Becker donated this medal to the National Collection in 1972.